Melbourne

I just came back from Melbourne a few days ago, went there for a week. Every moment was memorable for me. I really enjoyed each moment I spent there. I don’t know if it’s the companion or it’s the city that took my breath away. Mebourne is a different city from Sydney. You get the Victorian feeling when you stroll about in Melbourne (city). Everywhere you turn your head, you’ll see the dome-shaped roofs… the buildings really fascinated me!

Almost half of the pictures I took were buildings and landscapes! The lawn and garden there can blow you away~~~ the size is massive (compared to Sydney’s)! Sydney city has too many of skyscrapers, and they all look kinda boring. In Melbourne, the architecture is really interesting. According to my Housemate who’s doing Architecture atm, Melbourne architecture is eclectic. Well, I couldn’t agree more. You can see different flavours or styles of buildings there. They all make the city be more interesting!

img_0036.jpg

This is theFlinders St. train station (it’s like the Central Station in Sydney). This station is always busy and crowded of people.

img_0053.jpg

This is another Victorian building. If I’m not mistaken it’s the Exhibition House (forgive me if I’m wrong…). It’s just next to Melbourne Museum.

In Melbourne, you can find art exhibitions and museum. And the good part is, some of them are free entry for students. (I’m so happy to be a student!) 😛

img_0168.jpg

Melbourne Museum. It is sooooo huge! I couldn’t explore everything even though I was there for 4 hours! I think you need days to explore everything. It’s just too informative and interesting inside!

img_0078.jpg

Look at the building… how cool it is!

img_0542.jpg

Federation Square. It has big massive lawn there where people normally bike or jog around. You’ll see a lot of people bikers in Melbourne, thanks to the special bike tracks everywhere.

img_0263.jpg

The Yarra River

img_0435.jpg

Shrine of Remembrance. Too bad I was too exciting to take pictures, didn’t realise that we could get inside before 5 pm! By the time I realised it, it was already 5 pm…. 😦 Maybe next time…..

The lifestyle in Melbourne is more relaxed than Sydney. After 6pm, the city would be more quiet except on Fridays (it is the shopping night there!). I actually prefer Friday be the shopping night, coz it’s the end of the workday in the week! So people may enjoy the night more than other days. On the other hand Sydney makes Thursdays as its shopping night, which I don’t see why. People still need to get up early the day after and they won’t be have the excitement to shop on Thursdays! Mmmm….

Melbourne also a city to shop! Seriously… the shopping centers in the city cluster together, so it’d be soooo much easier for you to shop around…… As long as you can hold temptation and know well your budget, guess you’ll still survive. The fashion displays at the shops I reckon is more attractive and better than the one I saw in Sydney. (sorry Sydney… can’t help myself)

I told my friends that I wouldn’t shop in Melbourne since I can find the same shops in Sydney too! But I just couldn’t help myself….. *sigh* temptation! lol 😀

img_0305.jpg

Myer Building in Swanston St.

Trams are so common in Melbourne City and it’s so easy to understand the routes. Most of the trams travel straight, only a few would turn. Another plus point, the transport in Melbourne is cheaper than Sydney!

img_0368.jpg
That is what the tram looks like….. Just like buses, some of them have air conditioner, some not.

img_0367.jpg

Taxis look different. They are yellow there, in Sydney mostly they are white or silver.

We went to the famous St. Kilda Beach. It’s indeed different from the beaches I went in Sydney. It has big (so-called) park and a long pier where normally people sitting and fishing there. It is just different.

img_0423.jpg

View surrounds St. Kilda. Nice….

The most enjoyable part of my time there is when I met my friends…. especially those whom I haven’t seen for ages! It was really really nice to catch up with your old friends. They are still like old days…friendly, funny and ‘nuts’ hehehe 😛 My friends asked me whether I’d like to stay and live in Melbourne. I honestly, wouldn’t mind as long as I have friends there. I sort of fall for the city already! So, moving to there…. not a biggie I guess 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under My life

Leave a comment