Is Your Life Boring?

Image

“Don’t you feel bored with your life being the same – doing the similar routine each day?” Today I was asked this question by one of my house mates. To be honest, I didn’t expect that question coming, but once asked, I was pausing for a while because I never really think about it. Then I said “Nah, not really. It all depends on how you perceive it”. I didn’t elaborate further what I meant, but that question prompts me to write this…

He then continued saying that he has a friend whose life is free from financial obligation, therefore he has plenty of “free” time to do things he enjoys in life. He doesn’t need to be at work every day – he could just check on his computer to do some checking but need not worry the operation side of the business. The business is already self sustainable.

He then said in life people either have time but not money OR have money but no time OR have both. Of course, I think, ideally we would like to have both – time and money. BUT….. why do we feel bored anyway?

My answer didn’t come from his perspective of time and money. To me, it’s about our own mind’s attitude to whatever we’re doing or having at each moment. We normally feel bored when we don’t have interest in the thing we are doing. To me, I won’t say that I have the passion to do what I do for my living, but I won’t say that I don’t enjoy it. It’s not the form of the work that matters to me, but it’s more how I attend to my work.

I guess, it also comes from appreciation with what I’ve got. If I appreciate the moment I still could breathe, I think I’m lucky enough. I may have to keep working each day – 5 days a week – and don’t the chance to do things I’d love to do (which won’t earn me money) – but “boring” isn’t the word I’d use to describe it. In fact, it didn’t come into my mind until today when I was asked such.

I think having been experienced fluxes in my life, it opened myself up to the reality of change in life. Nothing will last forever – and with that lesson comes appreciation with what I’ve got at the moment. I learn to appreciate and enjoy whatever comes into my life now as it doesn’t last forever. One day – perhaps in a blink – it could be taken away from me. So why bother wishing something else when there is something in front?

Again, feeling bored comes when we are losing interest and wish to have/do something else instead. But if our attitude is to appreciate and enjoy whatever comes, I think boredom may not be able to enter our heart 🙂

Just my little contemplation for today….

Take care!!

Leave a comment

October 22, 2012 · 7:18 pm

Leave a Reply

